Post Number 7

So far, I have to say that going on the FODMAP diet will probably work for me. I just have to work at it, too.

I didn’t stick to it very well last week. I know that at first you should really do a complete elimination phase and not eat anything that’s not on the approved low-FODMAP list, but I like bread. And bread has never upset my stomach or let me down or hurt me or any of those other things that Rick Astley sings about.

Also, like I mentioned in a previous post, I ate out a lot, and had lunch catered, and it’s hard to turn down what you know is really delicious BBQ pulled pork sandwiches just because you can’t eat the (really really good) buns and probably can’t eat the sauce. Or the beans. Or the cake or the muffins or the soda and okay I didn’t do very well at all for a couple days there.

But that’s a good thing.

Because before I started this diet, my stomach was a mess, my digestive system was a mess, I couldn’t eat food without getting sick. And then I went on it (mostly) for about half a week, and I got better. Sure, maybe it was a coincidence. Maybe it was just time for my stomach to finally recover from the antibiotics that I had been on. But maybe not. Because as soon as I started eating junky food again this weekend (I’m looking at you, that delicious but not okay gyro with tzatziki sauce) and yesterday (I tried to get the better stuff at Panda Express, but they were sold out! It’s not my fault all they had left was Honey Walnut Shrimp and spicy things), my stomach started getting upset again.

So could it be a coincidence? Sure. It might be. But really there’s only one way to find out. And if that way means that I have to eat healthier food, and save money by not eating out and buying stuff at vending machines, then so be it!

As for the exercising, I tried out an arm exercise once last week and couldn’t raise my arm above shoulder level for three days and then I went on a walk on Sunday and now I have tendinitis in my ankle and can barely limp down the hall to the bathroom so I guess I’ll hold off on that for a bit.

Leave a Reply

